Feb 16, 2017

The Sustainable Energy for All (SEforAll) Africa Hub is a partnership of African institutions hosted by the African Development Bank, working to coordinate and facilitate the development of clean energy in African countries. It supports countries in the region to create a series of coherent steps aimed at assessing existing conditions, setting long-term objectives and promoting investment opportunities in the energy sector.

The Gap Analysis is the first step in the SEforAll country actions and it has been implemented in almost all Sub Saharan African countries since 2012. The Action Agenda is a strategy-driven document acting as an umbrella for energy sector development at the national level and the implementation framework for the Sustainable Development Goal 7 on energy. It is currently in development or has been finalized in more than 25 Sub Saharan Africa countries. The Investment Prospectuses provide an approach to carrying out the Country Action Agenda, by identifying and developing a set of programs and projects, including their investment requirements, which can be presented to potential private and public investors.

Daniel-Alexander Schroth, AfDB’s SEforALL Africa Hub Coordinator, highlighted the importance of “integrated energy planning at the national level, bringing together all relevant stakeholders on the government side as well as partners from private sector, civil society and development partners”. He further noted that the African Development Bank is considerably scaling-up its energy sector engagement and investments under the New Deal on Energy for Africa.

Six countries covered in Climatescope have already published their Action Agendas and/or Investment Prospectus. Other countries are expected to do so in 2017, including Angola, Botswana, Cameroun, DRC, Malawi, Zambia, Zimbabwe and other West African (ECOWAS) countries, which follow a regionally coordinated approach.

Gap Analysis

Climatescope countries

Cameroon, Democratic Republic of Congo, Ghana, Kenya, Liberia, Ethiopia, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sierra Leone, Tanzania, Zimbabwe.

Other countries

Angola, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cabo Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Gambia, Guinea-Bissau, Guinea, Lesotho, Namibia, South Sudan, Swaziland, Togo.

Action Agendas

Climatescope countries

Kenya, Rwanda, Nigeria, Liberia, Tanzania, Uganda.

Other countries

Gambia, Cabo Verde.

Investment Prospectus

Climatescope countries

Kenya, Tanzania.

Other countries


About SEforAll

SEforAll is an initiative that brings together stakeholders from government, the private sector and civil society. It was launched by the UN Secretary-General in 2011. SEforALL has three interlinked objectives to be achieved by 2030:

  1. Ensure universal access to modern energy services.
  2. Double the global rate of improvement in energy efficiency.
  3. Double the share of renewable energy in the global energy mix

Link to the recent SEforALL Africa Hub Annual Report